PDF’s & Firefox

It seems the comic problem (see below) is related to a bug in Firefox version 49.0.1.

I work with Chrome which is OK but when I checked with Firefox 49.0.1 the comics do not display in the Firefox in-browser reader (other files seem OK?). It seems it’s a known fault with PDF downloads and Firefox 49.

Quote from Mozilla web site… “Troubleshoot problems with the PDF viewer. ….. With certain types of PDF files, the PDF Viewer may have problems displaying fonts, colors or the whole document. If some PDF files don’t render well or are blank, click the download button on the right side of the document header to open it with the default PDF viewer application on your computer.”

I’ll try to see if it’s something in the way I create PDF documents but in the mean time, all I can suggest is either download documents or use an alternative PDF viewer. Mozilla make some suggestions at….https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/view-pdf-files-firefox#w_using-the-built-in-pdf-viewer

2 thoughts on “PDF’s & Firefox

  1. Mike October 11, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Sorry, even downloading the first comic doesn’t help. I either still get told it’s an empty file or the program (Calibre, for example) refuses to load it at all.

    • freddieclegg October 11, 2016 / 1:23 pm

      OK. I’ve done some more ferretting. I suspect its partly a problem with how I am producing the PDF’s. The comics are done use the export function in Plasq’s “Comic Life”. That produces a file of 1.4Mb for Comic 3. Using the Microsoft PDF print driver I can get a PDF that reads in Firefox but it is over 14M. My preferred PDF print driver (Cute PDF) produces a file that also works in Firefox but that’s over 18M. While these would be OK for folk on superfast broadband, others might find that a challenge. I’ll try the Plasq support forum.

Let's hear from you....

